Football Sportsbook - NFL History

NFL Football Betting - NFL Wagering - Wager On Football - Eagles History



The Eagles have been a Philadelphia institution since their beginning in 1933 when a syndicate headed by the late Bert Bell and Lud Wray purchased the former Frankford Yellowjackets franchise for $2,500. In 1941, a unique swap took place between Philadelphia and Pittsburgh that saw the clubs trade home cities with Alexis Thompson becoming the Eagles owner.

Philadelphia Eagles, professional football team and one of four teams in the Eastern Division of the National Football Conference (NFC) of the National Football League (NFL). The Eagles played at Veterans Stadium in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania for years, but in 2003 opened their new stadium Lincoln Financial Field. They wear uniforms of green, silver, black, and white. The team began play in 1924 as the Frankford (Pennsylvania) Yellow Jackets. Owners Bert Bell and Lud Wray moved the team to Philadelphia in 1933 and changed its name to the Eagles after the symbol of the National Recovery Administration, which had been created as part of the New Deal.

The Eagles captured three NFL titles from 1948 to 1960, earning consecutive crowns in 1948 and 1949 under head coach Earle “Greasy” Neale. His potent offensive squad starred future Hall of Fame members end Pete Pihos, halfback Steve Van Buren, and center Chuck Bednarik, who also played linebacker for the defensive unit.

Led by wide receiver Harold Carmichael and quarterback Ron Jaworski, Philadelphia played in Super Bowl XV in 1981 but lost to the Oakland Raiders. The club qualified for the playoffs six times from 1988 to 1996, with lineups starring wide receiver Fred Barnett, quarterback Randall Cunningham, running backs Herschel Walker and Ricky Watters, and defensive end Reggie White.

In 1933 Bert Bell and Lud Wray bought the NFL’s Frankford Yellow Jackets and moved the team to Philadelphia. Renamed the Eagles, the club struggled, posting losing records in each of its first ten seasons.

By the mid-1940s, however, the Eagles had improved. From 1947 to 1949, Greasy Neale piloted the club to three consecutive Eastern Division crowns and two league titles. Steve Van Buren, a mainstay of these teams, captured three of his four NFL rushing titles from 1947 to 1949. Pete Pihos led the league in receptions three times during his career and in receiving yards twice. Chuck Bednarik missed just three games in 14 seasons in Philadelphia.

After posting five losing records in the 1950s, the Eagles won their third NFL crown in 1960. Quarterback Norm Van Brocklin, playing his final season, was named the league’s most valuable player (MVP) after passing for nearly 2500 yards. Van Brocklin’s favorite targets, wide receivers Tommy McDonald and Pete Retzlaff, helped Philadelphia rally to defeat the Green Bay Packers in the championship game.

In 1961 Van Brocklin was replaced at quarterback by another eventual Hall of Fame member, Sonny Jurgensen. In his first full season Jurgensen threw for a league-record 3723 yards, breaking the previous mark by more than 600 yards. (The record is now held by Dan Marino of the Miami Dolphins, who threw for 5084 yards in 1984.) Nearly a third of Jurgensen’s yards went to McDonald, who led the league in yardage (1144) and touchdowns (13).

From 1962 through 1977 Philadelphia employed six different head coaches, but the team could not remain an NFL force. Although the Eagles boasted individual stars in running back Timmy Brown, wide receiver Harold Jackson, quarterback Roman Gabriel, and linebacker Bill Bergey, the Eagles did not reach the playoffs until 1978, Dick Vermeil’s second year as head coach.

From 1978 to 1981 Vermeil guided the Eagles to four consecutive playoff appearances. In 1981 the team advanced to the Super Bowl, where they lost to the Oakland Raiders 27-10.

After a six-year playoff drought, Philadelphia qualified for the postseason four times from 1988 to 1992. Guided by former Chicago Bears defensive coordinator Buddy Ryan, the Eagles developed a slashing offense centered around Randall Cunningham, who became a skilled passer and also emerged as one of the greatest running quarterbacks in NFL history. Cunningham was the Eagles’ top rusher each year from 1987 to 1990; in 1990 he threw for 30 touchdowns and rushed for more than 1000 yards. Under head coach Ray Rhodes, Philadelphia earned Wild Card berths in the playoffs in 1995 and 1996.

1981 Super Bowl XV Lost to Oakland Raiders, 27-10.
2005 Super Bowl Lost to New England Patriots


Eagles Club Records >>

Wager on Football is your football betting sportsbook for the Philadelphia Eagles football team. You can also find information about the Philadelphia Eagles superbowl odds, and the Philadelphia Eagles Football Stadium and more. We're the best NFL sportsbook review for NFL betting for the Philadelphia EaglesFootball team. We at Wager On Football give you the best service in online NFL football gambling, NFL odds, with the best NFL betting line. NFL rules and football gambling for the Philadelphia Eagles. Our review has the best NFL betting lines and NFL odds for your NFL betting.

Sportsbooks Ratings Guide

| Football Sportsbook | NFL Team Resources | NFL Wager